As I mentioned in class on Wednesday, I have absolutely no experience with video games, except Wii bowling at a friend’s house one Thanksgiving, so I didn’t feel I could contribute much to that adventurous side of the textualization conversations. But when seeing the list of titles covered in the Twitterature book, I knew I could make the connection to graphic novels, in this case, a new “form” for a formerly traditional text. According to Wikipedia, which cites the Oxford English Dictionary,

graphic novel is a narrative work in which the story is conveyed to the reader using sequential art, either in an experimental design or in a traditional comics format.[1] The term is employed in a broad manner, encompassing non-fiction works and thematically linked short stories as well as fictional stories across number of genres.[2]

One example is the Graphic Canon collection, described as “the world’s great literature as comics and visuals.” See their WordPress blog, Flavorwire for some sample images, and, of course, Amazon.

Because of my research into Hurricane Katrina, if you ever visit my office you’ll see a copy of  A.D. New Orleans After the Deluge. Actually, you don’t even have to visit if you want to click through all of the original webcomic’s images here. Here’s a video of how it was made:

I just think it’s cool that more often than not projects like this [and Twitterature] that start in online spaces are also getting published as hardback books.  Talk about coming full circle!

