I have been a blogger for around three years now. I run, maintain, and contribute to four different blogs through the site Tumblr. Before actually creating a blog I was under the false assumption that blogs were just run by people who had nothing but time and were using the blogosphere as an alternative to a diary. That, however, is not the case. Yes, there are blogs completely dedicated to the author’s feeling and act as a place for them to rant and express their opinions, but there a more blogs that focus on specific topics. Out of the sixty-four blogs that I follow, they can be broken up into eight categories: politics, humor, science, news, fashion, graphic design and photography, writing, and, of course, personal.

There are so many great blogs out there that come from accredited sources that I can get everything I need from the information world in one place. BBC, Newsweek, Life, Time Magazine, Discover Channel, Politico, Reuters, GQ, and many others all have Tumblrs. Even the Democrat and Republican Presidential candidates have Tumblrs. Combining those news outlets with the amateur ones available, which are sometime equally as well-done as the professional blogs, I have everything I need. And it is the need that is the driving force for the Digital Humanities.

While reading The History of Humanities Computing (Susan Hockey), I truly realized how everything that the Digital Humanities, or Humanities Computing, is about has to do with need. Someone wanted to accomplish something but needed a new way to do it, so he invented what he needed. That’s what Professional Communications & Emerging Media is to me: information and knowledge needs to be conveyed in a new and friendly way and we make it possible. Everything is completely selfish, yet, at the same time, selfless. As long as the need for information exists, the people like us will always have a place in society.

