Prior to this semester, I have not had much blogging experience.  As a PCEM major, many of my current English classes require students to blog through the WordPress website; many of the professors are trying to make a connection between traditional English and modern technology.  Although I haven’t blogged much on my own, I have seen the idea of blogging used across a variety of websites; for example, the website Tumblr takes the idea of blogging and applies it to pictures and graphics, rather than text.  I have my own graphic “blog” and use it to get new ideas for workout classes or recipes; I have also used WordPress a few times for personal writing.

Since I haven’t had much experience with blogs, I chose to read the article “Blogs and Blogging: Text and Practice” by Aimee Morrison. The article talked about what a blog is, the history of blogging, different genres of blogging, reading versus writing blogs, and much more.  One point that I thought was particularly interesting was the demographic of most frequent bloggers in an education setting: “they are young, male, have access to high-speed internet connections, have been online for more than six years, are financially prosperous, and have high levels of education” (Morrison).   I was surprised after reading this information; I know many females that have textual or graphic blogs, but I know very few males that have blogs, or at least admit to it.  I think that many men perceive blogging as virtual diary, or a way to write one’s feelings down with more accessibility from the public; I would have assumed that the majority of bloggers would be women or teens.  Overall, I think that the article explored a variety of blogging authors, genres, and styles.  I learned a lot about different forms of blogging that I never knew existed!

