Last year I started a blog. Two actually. The first has been used for Dr. Livesey’s intro to the major course, and the second was meant to be a travel-log of a study abroad experience that I am now not participating in. As a writer of a blog, I generally had *no idea* what to write, and would ramble and be lame. Occasionally I wrote an awesome post, and I found that when I had direction, I did MUCH better with my writing. As a technical writer, this does not surprise me in the least–give a techy direction, and they will follow! I’m hoping that once again being “forced” to keep a blog will help me to find direction in my non-technical writing, and that I will most of all be consistent. No one is going to follow a blog that has a post every 3 months…but someone might follow a blog that has a post every three days.

In reading the first selection for ENGL385 (This is 385, right? Or are we in 335?) “What Is Digital humanities and What’s It Doing in English Departments?” by Matthew G. Kirschenbaum, pp. 3-11 in Debates in the Digital Humanities–I found myself thoroughly enjoying the reading. In fact–I found myself wanting to invest in my own copy of the book! Digital Humanities, and thus blogging, tweeting and even Facebook status-ing as a writer frequently takes far more thought than I’d like to admit, and being able to use the things that I have already gained from an English program (Because while we might attend a polytechnic university and have a fancy name for our program, lets face it–we’re English Majors.) helps me to create clear, concise documentation. Or in this case rambling posts that still have a point.

My point! DH belongs in English departments because we are writers. Writers write. As much as I grudgingly do this, we are moving past the era of my notebo0k and fountain pen and are already well into an era of technological journalling–we have to keep with the times.

Online journals are what blogs were made for, and even this has evolved–we now have tech bloggers and social bloggers and *food* bloggers and every other kind of bloggers we can imagine. Rule #34 of the internet, with a writing spin, if you will. And our words will now be immortalized forever. It’s amazing to me that I can find a pattern, or recipe, or tech review that was published a decade ago, on a blog, and simply have it be there. I want to be there too.

Thus, here is a goal for this semester. I am going to *gasp!* put down my pen, and stash away my, well stash, of notebooks, and attempt to only “journal” on my private blog, and create my postings here, and actually follow the blogs that I like. I’m going to integrate blogging into my life, and see if Prof Pignetti’s way works for me. I think I can do it. Anyone with me?

-A

