This article The Digital Humanities and Humanities Computing: An Introduction starts out by letting people know we have finally accepted digital humanities as a discipline of its own. It goes on to discuss that digital humanities does not have set definition, we are always trying to define it but nothing seems to suffice because it truly is an umbrella term for many possibilities.  Different disciplines can use digital humanities to their benefit, for example in the art world they can now share and view artwork they once had to travel miles to see and how archaeologists use computers for sorting data. It took a while for scholars to accept the fact that computers were necessary for the growth of the humanities. What makes digital humanities so interesting is that we basically have to teach ourselves a new way of looking at things, which can be hard for traditional scholars-but, that’s what makes it so exciting.

My favorite quote from this article has to be “…it took a generation for historians to reconsider the usefulness of the computer to their discipline.” This really stuck out to me because this is a major win for the digital humanities. I overlook the fact that it says it took a generation for it to happen because in the end it did happen. That’s what I focus on, that the digital humanities are at the forefront of the scholarly battlefield. People are accepting that it is new and it is different but that’s ok. I love that this article gave us different examples of how each field can use DH to their benefit. It took me until now to wrap my head around the fact that digital humanities could be incorporated into every field.

The article The History of Humanities Computing revolves around Father Roberto Busa and his idea of lemmatizing Latin words in an alphabetical sequence. He was very thorough in doing so and refused to take any shortcuts and influenced ‘humanities computing’ along the way. In the 1960’s scholars take a major interest in the DH and began producing articles on it. The article in a nutshell is about how computers have been used to calculate numbers and letters to prove points. At least that’s what I got out of it feel free to correct me if I am wrong.

I found this article to be very technical, but that is to be expected. What I did not expect to see was how far back this research goes. In fact the date 1949 blew me out of the water. I tend to think of the digital humanities as an up and coming thing but I have been proven wrong. It’s been in the works for decades we just came up with a new tool to take it to the next level-the computer.

