It amazes me how long it took for humans to realize the potential that technology has when it comes to humanities and theirs studies. Being born into the technical generation I have a cretin dependance on technology and the internet that can be good and bad at times. I have put high expectations on technology in the future because all i know is the advancement. I walk around with a computer in my pocket everyday and if I have a curiosity, I simply “Google it.” Someone with out this technology would require more time to “itch their scratch,” if you will.

DH brings so many fields together to create its definition because it can be useful for just about anything. One disadvantage, that is mentioned in the reading “The Digital Humanities and Humanities Computing: An Introduction,” is that not everything that is digitized has the same value as it does in its “native form,” like sculptures, Music, performances, events, etc. we have to manipulate the source in order to digitize it. On the other hand this may not be a bad thing considering physical objects are always vulnerable to being destroyed. I have an example of this from my History of Modern Art’s class. one of the paintings we are studying only exists in a photograph or on the computer. the original painting was destroyed but we know of its existence because of photographs of the original piece. So, even though manipulation is required, the library of art that is digitized can hold the memory of things that technically do not exist anymore.  Digital Humanities is not only pertaining to things being digitized but also to things that are originally created digitally.
I see the future of Digital Humanities to be so bright, and I rely on its success everyday. I never have a reason to purchase a news paper because I can follow it on twitter. I rarely have to write my homework down when my professors announce it because I can look it up on D2L. I don’t feel the need to talk to my long distance cousin everyday because i can creep on her Facebook.  And I do not need to carry a dictionary around because I can Google with the computer in my pocket.

After reading about the histories of Humanities Computing, I see why to took so long to get only this far. Being a child during the begging years of the internet I forget that it has not been around for that long.  Reading about how long it took to digitize 80 characters amazes me and I can see how some were turned off by it. On the other hand it was surprising to me how early Humanities Computing started considering there was no internet to put all the data on. I recognize that they saw the potential of having their studies digitized even before the world wide web.
Back when I was in elementary school, we had a database on the computers in the library that held every book that could be checked out. To me this made sense. Why look around the whole library for one book when you can just look it up on the computer; When really with was new technology to the people teaching me how to use it. I always wondered why they felt the need to be so passionate about it when really they had the right to be. They were witnessing a change that would forever change how we study and research. Growing up with this technology makes it harder for me to be amazed by it, because it’s all I know.

 

 

