Wow, uhm, where to begin…

I feel slightly overwhelmed after reading this. As an (ostensibly enough) English Major, I feel nearly ashamed to admit that half the time, I had absolutely no idea what Svensson was saying. There. Step one is admitting you have a problem, right?

My first reaction around paragraph 30 was “how on earth can this be a manifesto for my field, if I cant even understand it!?” but, upon further pondering, it is definitely a manifesto of sorts. Given the OAD definition of a manifesto in the lifehacker assignment description, it does fit:

Man•i•fes•to (noun) – A public declaration of policy and aims, esp. one issued before an election by a political party or candidate.

And further on in the lifehacker description we have:

  • Clarify your beliefs
  • Examine your motivations
  • Create personal “policies”
  • Describe what kind of world you’d like to live in
  • Write down your goals

If we replace “your” in this list with “the field of DH”–then yes, each topic is fairly well covered.

Am I any less confused about what that just said? No. Does it fit the definition? Yes.

So–can we have a more concise final manifesto for our class? Please guys?

-A

