This is a picture that an old co-worker and friend, Hayley, tweeted a few days ago:

Hayley is a junior at Iowa State studying Mass Communications with a concentration in PR.  This caught my attention because the tweet talked about social media and communications.  I think it’s interesting to see what students with similar majors are learning.  I also really liked that she used a variety of different social media apps to present this: instagram for the picture and tweeting for the post to describe an actual event/lecture about social media.

I am personally a fan of Twitter because I like the brevity of information.  In this situation, I could read Hayley’s 140 character tweet, looked at her picture, and was still able to understand the full concept.

I think microblogging sties, like Twitter, and the use of photos will become a huge trend in the next few years; after all, a picture is worth a thousand words.

