I read the article “Tweet, Tweet, Retweet: Conversational Aspects of Retweeting on Twitter” by Danah Boyd, Scott Golder, and Gilad Lotan. Twitter was released July of 2006 and you can only use 140 characters to send your message. Though it is like text messaging in that sense it differs because the whole world has the potential to see it. It is a microblogging site. You can post your opinions and people can ‘comment’ on it by tweeting at one another. Sometimes I use Twitter to talk to my friends, I tweet at them specifically if I find something funny to show them or if I just want to say hi. which I can easily do over text but Twitter is more fun. Twitter differs from other social networking sites in the sense that you can follow someone but they don’t have to follow you. On Facebook if someone’s profile is private you can’t view it unless you are friends. You can view their profile and they can view your’s, it is an equal partnership. However, with Twitter you are able to see someone’s Tweets when you follow them. They do not have to accept your request, unless they change their settings, its automatic but it does not have to reciprocal. The article expresses the importance of retweeting. There are many different purposes for retweeting, I retweet funny facts or things comedians say that remind me of my friends. The article uses the example is retweeting for social action. I follow One Tree Hill star Sophia Bush on Twitter and she is a huge activist. For example in the recent Sandy crisis she tweeted and retweeted about ways to help the victims. She constantly tweets about politics and major issues in the world. People can retweet things until it trends and becomes a popular topic. People can ask to be retweeted to get their cause out there and known. By retweeting people can be in a conversation in not even say anything. I am a huge fan of tweeting, it really can change the world. Is has profoundly affected the presidential election this year among various other things.

