This article was about Twitter in educational settings and as a educational tool. While many good points were raised–such as the ability to give prompt feedback, ease of discourse between students and between students and faculty members, and active learning–I have to wonder if this is really just further complicating things for students.

As a predominantly distance student, some days I love the way my education is going, but a lot of the time i’m overwhelmed with the management sites and check in points and twelve billion emails it somehow requires to get done a shockingly small amount of work. I don’t see the need for blogs and twitter and facebook and and and in addition to a website like D2L or Blackboard for trying to manage an online class. It gets overwhelming–and thus a hindrance to education. Everything in moderation, and that seems to be something my generation has forgotten when it comes to online access.

