This class was the first one I’ve had to take that has required the students to write blog posts each week. We’re not only writing for our classmates and professor but for everyone on the web as well. I think this has improved my skills as a writer because this is the first time I’ve had to write for a wider audience than just my professors and classmates. I think writing in blogs gives you the opportunity to show more of your personality in your writing than you would for a normal assignment that only your professor would read. I think I’ve always shown my voice through my writing. One example of this is for the DH project evaluation paper. I chose to examine the September 11th Digital Archive site. For this paper we got put in groups and had to edit and proofread our group members papers. I remember one comment from one of my group members said that he liked the way I let my voice show through my writing. I think in some ways this is effective, especially writing in blogs, because it allows the reader to connect with the writer on a deeper level than a more formal assignment.

I think blogging is more relaxing to write than a paper that is for your professor. Even though my professor, classmates, and other web users read what I posted, I think blogging is more personal; it takes some of the pressure off. Blogging has changed the way I write because I feel more comfortable to sound more like myself in my writing and let more of my voice show through. I think professor Pignetti did a good job at allowing this because of the open posts we had to do each week along with our other post that was about a specific topic. The open posts could be about anything related to our course goals and I really enjoyed seeing what everyone else posted each week. I think for the open posts everyone let their voice shine through in their writing and I think this makes the blog seem a little more inviting. Another thing I liked was that professor Pignetti would also do blog posts and would comment on our posts. In her posts and comments, and even teaching in class, she would talk to us in a casual tone and I think this also helped put everything at ease. Writing in the blog didn’t seem like an assignment sometimes because I usually always enjoyed what I had to write about and share with others for the open posts. And since our professor would do blog posts too that also helped make it seem like it wasn’t an assignment sometimes.

This link takes you to my very first blog post for this class. I couldn’t tell you what the assignment was about but I think this is a good example of sounding more personal in your writing. One thing that I would change now that I have reread it is in the last paragraph I talk about how I like Bobley’s definition of Digital Humanities. I wish I would’ve said what that definition was and explained why I liked it because now that I’ve reread it I don’t remember what his definition was. For most of the blog posts I just wrote it on the spot, read over it once for any spelling and grammar errors and then posted it. Normally I would write something, let it sit for a few days and then go back to it and make changes. I think writing for blogs forces you to be better at writing on the spot and writing something good the first time. Blogging is definitely good practice for that. For my editing class I think about how my professor was telling me how reporters would sometimes have to write stories and they would get proofread once and get sent out to the press. I always wondered how they could write something so good so fast and get mostly everything right the first time. Now that I have a little blogging experience under my belt I’m not too intimidated by writing something on the spot and still feeling confident about it.

