As many have said before me, the semester is coming to an abrupt end.  This is the time of the year that the Christmas music is playing in every department store and the colors of red and green side the streets. This also means, finals. As finals quickly approach, so does reflecting on my past four months in English 335 and telling about everything that I learned for the good as well as the bad. Throughout the past four months I have been blogging every Friday about current events that the class would talk about with one another as well as something relevant that was from my own personal thoughts. As all of this seems like fun and games, it was really helping me keep involved with new things going on around the world everyday by reading something I wouldn’t normally read.

When it comes to blogging, I wasn’t a big fan going into the whole idea. When I took ENGL 121 my first freshman semester we did a lot of blogging and when we were told that we would be doing it for 335 as well I was not to thrilled. However, this class took blogging a different direction and we were given more direction from the professor. Blogging has changed my writing in more ways than I realized. When it comes to my writing before blogging, I would write in very detailed ways. I wrote in such ways that would bore a blog reader and make them probably not want to read again. As I read other students work I knew where to take my writing styles from. I wrote my first blog post for this class about blogging! Surprise I know! I realize now that I wrote way more than I had to and what I wrote did not have much strength to it. Now when I look at my blogs I realize that I have more body to what I’m saying. For example one of my first posts was written like this, “I did however find it quite difficult to write a blog once a week because I’m not the kind of person who likes to tell people about my life and experiences.” 09/12/12. That post makes me sound very rude and to outside viewers who don’t know me, may think that I am stuck up and stuck on myself. Which is not how I am. As for improvements one of my latest posts looked like this, “This past week I was able to learn the differences between a good and bad webpage!” 11/29/12. I found out that as the semester went on I kept my sentences more choppy and shorty keeping a blog reader more interested.

            Currently I am in ENGL 125 and for our final paper we need to pick any topic we wish and, well, write about it. My topic is, “Is texting hurting younger generation’s grammar?” Why I mention this is because I feel like what I have done in ENGL 335 has helped guide me to this question. Question number five asks about how writing this semester has affected life beyond school and I think that with having 10 people blog each Friday about something going on in the world has opened my mind to what really is going on. For example, there was an article that I read that talked about only 8% of people use Twitter in the world, when here I thought it was only I who didn’t use it! When it comes to writing with this class and the outside world, I text and use Facebook. This class shows me that I keep my texting and Facebooking posts crisp and to a point. I don’t venture off onto something that doesn’t need to be talked about. I understand that Facebook is much different than writing a paper, but I feel like this class has helped me understand writing.

            Feedback: the negative stuff no one likes to hear! One way that another student’s feedback has helped me is on October 21st I posted that Mean Girls politics meme. It was said that I need to give credit to the person I got it from and I realized after I read that I should have and that from now I should quote where it is from. I mean, I know this however I realize that I should for everything that I post so I don’t get in trouble in the long run. My classmates all did a great job posting throughout this class, and I am happy to say that I was taught so much from reading everything I read. 

Image

